Sparkle Spa books by Jill Santopolo - SparkleSpaBooks.com:

Sparkle Spa books - sparklespabooks.com
Sparkle Spa books
Sparkle Spa books: read an excerpt
Sparkle Spa books: take a poll
Sparkle Spa books: nail designs
Sparkle Spa books: about the author Jill Santopolo
Sparkle Spa books: about the series
Sparkle Spa books: Aly Brooke
Sparkle Spa books: about the series

Making friends one sparkly nail at a time – a new series!

Sisters Aly and Brooke love spending time at their mom’s popular and successful nail salon—it’s their “home away from home.” At the end of another incredibly busy day, Mom complains she is completely overwhelmed at work, even more so by all the kids who come to have manis and pedis. That’s when the sisters have a brilliant idea: Why don’t they open up a mini nail salon just for kids within Mom’s store?

Sparkle Spa books

Sparkle Spa #1: All That Glitters

The first book in a shimmering chapter book series about sisters who open up their own mini nail salon for their friends. Perfect for fans of Candy Fairies, Dork Diaries & Junie B. Jones!

Learn more

Read an excerpt

Sparkle Spa #2: Purple Nails and Puppy Tails

When Aly and Brooke decide to give PET-icures to puppies, it seems like their new Sparkle Spa salon might just go to the dogs!

At Aly and Brooke’s new nail salon, anything goes. Well, almost anything. One of their mother’s regular clients doesn’t go anywhere without her beloved dog Sadie, who’s a canine star. One paw leads to another, and the girls not only polish Sadie’s nails, but also hatch a scheme to do doggy makeovers for the Annual Pup Adoption Day at the local shelter. But dogs aren’t exactly ideal mani-pedi customers, are they? The girls are finding out the ruff way!

Learn more

Sparkle Spa #3: Makeover Magic

Can Aly and Brooke’s Sparkle Spa salon survive some nail-biting competition?

Aly and Brooke are up to their glittering fingertips in manis and pedis for the annual Fall Ball dance at Auden Elementary School. But when Princess Polish, a flashy new nail salon, opens right across the street, the sisters worry that Sparkle Spa’s days might be numbered!

Coming June 2014: Learn more

Sparkle Spa books: read an excerpt
Sparkle Spa books: take a poll
What's your favorite color to paint your nails?
Loading...
Sparkle Spa books: about the author Jill Santopolo

Jill Santopolo, a children's book editor, grew up in Hewlett, New York. She graduated from Columbia University, and received a MFA from Vermont College. She is the author of two middle-grade mysteries and lives in New York, NY.

You can visit her online at www.jillsantopolo.com.

Sparkle Spa books: nail designs

How to Give Yourself (or Your Friend!) a Rainbow Sparkle Pedicure

By Aly (and Brooke!) 

What you need:

  • Paper towels
  • Polish remover
  • Cotton balls
  • Clear polish
  • Red polish
  • Orange polish
  • Yellow polish
  • Purple polish
  • Pink polish

 

What you do:

First, put some paper towels on the floor so you don’t have to worry about spilling polish.

(Brooke: Once Aly spilled while she was painting my toes, and Mom got so, so mad and we still have a purple splotch on our carpet!)

Second, take one cotton ball of a piece of paper towel and put some polish remover on it. If you have polish on your toes already, use enough to get it off. If you don’t, just rub the remover over your nails once to get off any dirt that might be on there.

(Brooke: Even if you can’t see it very well, there still might be dirt!)

Third, rip off two more paper towels. Twist the first one into a long tube and weave it back and forth between your toes to separate them a little bit more. Then do the same thing with the second paper towel. You might need to tuck it in around your pinky toe if it pops up and gets in your way while you polish.

Fourth, open up your clear polish, and do a coat of clear on each nail. Then close the clear bottle up tight.

(Brooke: Aly usually starts with my big toes and works her way to my pinkies. You might want to do that too.)

Fifth, open up the red polish. Do a coat on each big toe. Close the bottle up tight.

Sixth, open up the orange polish. Do a coat on each pointer toe. Close the bottle up tight.

Seventh, open up the yellow polish. Do a coat on each middle toe. Close the bottle up tight.

Eight, open up the purple polish. Do a coat on each ring toe. Close the bottle up tight.

Ninth, open up the pink polish. Do a coat on each pinky toe. Close the bottle up tight.

Tenth, fan your toes a little to dry them a tiny bit, and then repeat the fifth through ninth steps.

(Brooke: This is when your colors start to look very bright—and sparkly if you have sparkle polish!)

Eleventh, fan your toes a little again, and then open your clear polish. Do a top coat of clear polish on all of your toes. Close the bottle up tight.

(Brooke: You can go in the same order you did last time!)

Twelfth, now your toes have to dry. You can fan them for a long time, or sit and make a bracelet or read a book or watch TV or talk to your friend until you’re all dry. Usually it takes about twenty minutes, but it could take longer.

(Brooke: After twenty minutes, you should check it really carefully by touching your big toe super lightly with your thumb. If it still feels sticky, keep waiting! Once I didn’t wait and the whole thing got messed up and I had to say please please please to Aly so she would fix it. Which reminds me, you can fix it if you need to—just use nail polish remover on the messed up nail, and do that nail over again, the same way you did it the first time, but wait thirty seconds between each layer. Then it should turn out perfecto the second time around!)

And now, you should have a beautiful pedicure! Even after the polish is dry, you probably shouldn’t wear socks and sneaker-type-shoes for a while. Bare feet or sandals are better so all your hard work doesn’t get smooshed.

(Brooke: And besides, then you can show people how fancy your toes look!)

Happy polishing!

How to Give Yourself (or Your Friend!) a Puppy Paw Pedicure

By Aly (and Brooke!) 

What you need:

  • Paper towels
  • Cotton Balls
  • Polish remover
  • Clear polish
  • One color polish for the base (we suggest yellow)
  • One color polish for the paw prints (we suggest pink)
  • Water-color paint brush


What you do:

First, put some paper towels down on the floor so you don’t have to worry about what will happen if you spill some polish on the floor.
 
(Brooke: Seriously. This is important. Polish stains badly. We know from experience.)
 
Second, take one cotton ball and put some polish remover on it. If you have polish on your toes already, use enough to get it off. If you don’t, just rub the remover over your nails once to get off any dirt that might be on there.
 
(Brooke: If there’s dirt, it’ll make your polish look lumpy. And lumpy polish is the absolute pits!)
 
Third, rip off two more paper towels. Twist the first one into a long tube and weave it back and forth between your toes to separate them a little bit more. Then do the same thing with the second paper towel. You might need to tuck it in around your pinky toe if it pops up and gets in your way while you polish.
 
Fourth, open up your clear polish, and do a coat of clear on each nail. Then close the clear bottle up tight.
 
(Brooke: You can go in whatever order you want, but our favorite is big toe to pinky on your right foot, then big toe to pinky on your left foot. Just make sure you get them all!)
 
Fifth, open up the yellow polish.
 
(Brooke: Or whichever color you chose for your base. Just make sure it’s a color that will make it so you can see the paw print! For example, orange on red might be a little hard to see.)
 
Do a coat on each big toe. Close the bottle up tight.
 
Sixth, fan your toes a little to dry them a tiny bit, and then repeat the fifth step.
 
(Brooke: If you don’t do a second coat, the polish won’t looks as beautiful and bright.)
 
Seventh, fan your toes a little again.
 
(Brooke: You should actually fan them for a while. We recommend singing the whole alphabet song three times through. Aly likes to show off and sing it backwards, but I do forwards and that’s just fine.)
 
Eighth, open up your pink polish (or whatever accent color you chose). Don’t use the regular polish brush.  Take the water-color paint brush, which has thinner and pointier hairs,  and dip it into the pink polish. Then touch the paint brush to the middle of your thumb toenail to make a medium-sized dot.  After that, touch it above the medium-sized dot three times to make three smaller dots in a row.  It’ll look just like a paw print!
 
(Brooke: If it doesn’t, you can just get nail polish remover and start over.)

Then do it on the other thumb toenail.

(Brooke: You could do it on every nail, but we think it look cooler on the thumb toes. Also, the rest of the toenails are pretty tiny, so it’s hard to make the dots small enough to make the paws.)
 
When you’re done, close the bottle up tight.
 
Ninth, fan your thumb toes a little bit
 
(Brooke: One alphabet song should do the trick.)
 
Then open your clear polish. Do a top coat of clear polish on all of your toes. Close the bottle up tight.
 
Now your toes have to dry. You can fan them for a long time, or sit and make a bracelet or read a book or watch TV or talk to your friend until you’re all dry. Usually it takes about twenty minutes, but it could take longer.
 
(Brooke: After twenty minutes, you should check it really carefully by touching your big toe super lightly with your thumb. If it still feels sticky, keep waiting!  Patience is the most important part, otherwise you might smudge it and you’ll have to take it off and do it all over again, which let me tell is a very grumpy-making thing.)
 
And now, you should have a beautiful puppy paw pedicure! Even after the polish is dry, you probably shouldn’t wear socks and sneaker-type-shoes for a while. Bare feet or sandals are better so all your hard work doesn’t get smooshed.
 
(Brooke: And besides, then you can show people your puppy paw toes!)
 
Happy polishing!